Breaking News: Ghana coach Rajavac settles on final 28-man squad for AFCON- Kudus Mohammed included

Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac finalized his 28-man squad for this month’s Africa Cup of Nations after omitting two players- Felix Afena Gyan and Salis Abdul Samed-from his provisional squad.**

But injured Ajax Amsterdam midfielder Kudus Mohammed, who is yet to report the team’s camp base in Qatar has been included.

A Ghana FA statement read: ‘‘AS Roma youngster Felix Afena Gyan and Clermont Foot midfielder Salis Abdul Samed missed out on the final list for the tournament which kicks off on Sunday, January 9, 2022 in Cameroon.’’

The squad includes 18 players who will be making in the continent’s flagship event for the first time.

And that includes four home-based players- Dreams FC duo of Philemon Baffour and Isahaaku Fatawu, Great Olympics striker Maxwell Abbey Quaye and David Abagna, who captains Real Tamale United.

All four goalkeepers picked for the tournament will be marking their debuts.

Ghana are scheduled to play defending champions Algeria in a pre-tournament friendly on Wednesday, 5 January before flying to Cameroon.

The Black Stars have been drawn in Group C alongside Morocco, Gabon and Comoros Island.

Ghana will be making their 23rd appearance and have won the on four occasions in 1963, 1965, 1978 and 1982.

Ghana’s squad for 2021 Africa Cup of Nations:

GOALKEEPERS: Joseph Wolacott (Swindon Town, England), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen, Belgium), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen, Switzerland)

DEFENDERS: Andy Yiadom (Reading FC, England), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC, england), Gideon Mensah (Girondins de Bordeaux, France), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC, France), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria de Guimaraes, Portugal)

MIDFIELDERS: Baba Iddrissu (Real Mallorca, Spain), Edmund Addo (Sherif Tiraspol, Moldova), Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen, China), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli, Germany), David Abagna (Real Tamale United),

FORWARDS: Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Dreams FC), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha, Saudi Arabia), Kamal Deen Suleymana (Rennes, France), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd, Qatar), Joseph Paintsil (Genk, Belgium), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Beitar Jerusalem, Israel), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Benjamin Tetteh (Malatyaspor, Turkey)